The Need

The cool water chills me. Tonight is not a good night for a dip, but that’s half the fun. I take off my sweater and sweats, the guise that lets my parents think I’m going out for a jog, and stops the concerned looks of neighbours if they saw me out running in swimwear. I put my school-branded clothing onto a nearby bench; any-one out this late wouldn’t have the eyes to see them anyway.

The tide goes in, I stare at it. It’s cold, murky eyes stare back. The tide goes out; I shut out everything and let the water take me into its endless abyss. I jump, dive into the water. I take a long swim out until the need for breath consumes me. I raise myself up, treading my feet, tip-toeing the bottom of this monster. I look at the shore, a longer ways away than last time. I find a shallow part a gain my footing. I smile and dip my head into the water, breathing out as if I was talking to it.

A sound

My head jerks up; I almost choke on the salty ale. I cough and am better. I look at the clouds.

A storm is coming.

But I swear I heard a sound. A swish. Or something. It’s louder now this time. As if it was getting closer, I hear a gasp. No, a breath. Not mine, deeper, shorter. Menacing, if that makes sense.

With my better judgement, I decide to go back home. I jump, dive again. I take longer strokes, faster kicks. The need consumes. Before I go up I see a leg, I decide to go faster, take a breath when I get to shore.

The arm slices through the water.

Grabs my head, my hair. I try to get away quickly but I can’t. The strength is too much, I’m weightless underwater.

The need consumes.

I struggle. Twist and contort. I flip. Face upwards. I can’t make out anything. It’s all a blur. I stare. It’s cold, murky eyes stare back. I use my feet to kick the sand, but it flows. Like mud.

The need consumes.

Takes my shoulder now. Takes it to keep me down. It gains its footing. It’s on top of me now. My back is met with sand. We’re close to shore. But the weight is fully on me. Nowhere to move. Breath.

The need consumes.

I can’t fight much longer. Need air. Need feeling. Hand cold. The cool water chills me. Must be getting darker. Colder. Takes its head, dunks itself under the water. Lifts me.

So close. So…close. The need consumes.

Kisses me. On the cheek. Head tilts back. Lungs buckle. Can’t let water in. Can’t stop. Hear my heart. Focus. Focus

…but. That need, the need…

Consumes.

About OnlyAlexB

Stuff, etc.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Stories. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

