#13 Post-War Blues

Fading in slowly from a grey static is Joshua Rapture rocking backing forth in a corner, the only light comes in bars from his office window. A knock comes from the door and Joshua throws a roll of toilet paper at the sound. The latch turns and the light switches on, Joshua grimaces and shield his eyes. His office is a mangled mess of papers, newspaper clippings stuck to the wall with red thread running in lines to and fro.

Joshua: What are YOU doing here?

Joshua spits out his venomous words, dripping spit onto his face that hasn’t seen a razor in weeks. Joshua scratches at his head like a beggar with lice as somebody clears their throat. It’s a woman’s throat. Megan Adams’ throat.

Megan: Mr. Rapture? I requested this time for an interview? There was no-one at the front desk so I let myself in. Is that okay? Do you need some help?

Joshua: QUESTIONS! Ah hah yes the question girl, the first thing you say is a question so you MUST be the question girl. Question girl questions me quizzingly.

Megan: Mr. Rapture aside from the video sent to the NAPW office, you haven’t been seen in a month. There’s no-one in your gym, there is a rumor going around that you’re going through a crisis of faith so excuse me if I’m blunt but what EXACTLY is going on with you?

Joshua: Exactly? Expertly Andellion entrenched and encroached and then took an Exacto Knife and cut out my sinews Megan. And I feel exalted.

The New Dawn? I sent them home for the rest of the day. No, no, they’re on a Group Retreat. Ha! Yes, they are on a Group Retreat and I am not. Because I am above togetherness, I am one-ness and I am alone. Because I feel like being alone. Yes sounds much better than a collective questioning of my leadership since my loss to Moonwater and subsequent disposal of faith. Much better.

Megan: Well Mr. Rapture seeing the current state of your… affairs, is Pat Gordon Jr. even on your mind?

Joshua: MEGAN!! Haven’t you been listening to a word I’ve been saying? This is ALL about good ol’ boy PGJR!! hahaha I’m ecstatic to fight Patty! If you want to know why, you have to start clapping. Do it with me now:

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

He’s Gonna Get His Freaking Head Kicked In!

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

He’s Gonna Get His Freaking Head Kicked In!

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

Clap-ClapClapClapClap-Clap-ClapClap-ClapClap

He’s Gonna Get His Freaking Head Kicked In!

…Joshua abruptly stops, jumps up off the floor and starts approaching Megan, Megan recoils partly out of fear and partly due to the stench. Joshua points toward his office wall that is covered in a spider’s web of newspapers.

Joshua: Do you see that? Do you? This is every piece of information I could pull on Andellion Moonwater. I was trying to find out if he was real or not and he turned out to be the most real of us all. I spent my soul into that wall. Ripped up chapters of pages from a book I’ll never read. hahaha Want to know what I see when I look at that wall Megan? Do you?

Joshua gets extremely close to Megan’s personal space, a squeak slips out of her throat. Joshua whispers into Megan’s ear.

Joshua: God is Dead, Long Live Joshua Rapture.

Like a gunshot Joshua turns and rips the clippings off the wall, flinging everything he get a hold on. Megan and crew bolt out the door leaving Joshua Rapture inside his office, screaming at the top of his lungs.

“God is Dead. Long Live Joshua Rapture.”

About OnlyAlexB

Stuff, etc.

Posted on May 20, 2014, in Joshua Rapture. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

